Lost your password?
Don't have an account? Sign Up

Race to replace Jacob Oulanyah: Electoral Commission Nominates 4 On Day I Of Nomination Exercise

By An Executive Editor

The Electoral Commission has declared nine (9) candidates duly nominated on the first day of nominations for Parliamentary and Local Government Councils by-elections for Omoro County in Omoro District.
The nominations which commenced today, Thursday 12th May 2022, were held at Omoro District Council Hall, Omoro, and were presided over by the Returning Mr. Moses Kagona.
Four (4) candidates, namely, Onen Jimmy Walter (Independent), Ondonga Terence (Independent), Tolit Simon (National Unity Platform) and Kizza Oscar (Alliance for National Transformation) were declared nominated to contest for the seat of Directly-elected Member of Parliament.
Lalam Florence (National Resistance Movement), Lawino Franka (Independent) and Aneka Christine (Uganda People’s Congress) were nominated to contest for the District Woman Councillor representing Lalogi/Lakwaya Electoral Area, while Oryema Terence (National Resistance Movement) and Odida Jackson (Democratic Party) were nominated to contest for Councillor for Older Persons representing Acet Town Council.
The nomination exercise will be concluded tomorrow Friday 13th May, and thereafter campaign meetings will be held from 16th to 24th May with polling scheduled for Thursday 26th May 2022.
The Omoro County Constituency Parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of the former Member of Parliament and former Speaker of Parliament, the Rt. Hon. Jacob L’Okori Oulanyah on 22nd March 2022.  

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *