Lost your password?
Don't have an account? Sign Up

NRM favorite as 7 pick interest in Bukedea LCV seat

By Marvin Ocol

The Electoral Commission is set to conduct nomination of candidates for Local Government Councils by-election in Bukedea between June 5 and June 6, 2023.

In a statement Monday, the Commission says that the nomination of candidates to contest in the by-election for Chairperson, Bukedea District will be conducted starting today, Monday 5th June 2023.

During this exercise, the Commission will also nominate candidates to contest for positions of Councillors in Local Government Councils in Bukedea District where vacancies exist.

The nominations will be conducted at the Office of the Returning Officer in Bukedea Town Council, starting at 9am and ending at 5pm.

Aspiring candidates will be required to fulfill all the requirements for nomination for District Chairperson (LC. V) and Councillor for the respective electoral position.

So far, seven (7) aspirants (names arranged in alphabetical order) have collected forms for nomination of District Chairperson, and are expected to return them for verification during this exercise:

  1. Akol Mary – NRM;
  2. Edekeny Pius (Independent);
  3. Lokwiisk Tychicus Ebukalin (Independent);
  4. Oita Sam Odeke – FDC;
  5. Okiria Paul (National Unity Platform – NUP);
  6. Okwii Salim (Uganda Peoples’ Congress – UPC); and,
  7. Omagor David Stephen (Independent).

The nomination exercise will end on Tuesday 6th June 2023.

The Commission says the nominated candidates will conduct campaign meetings for six (6) days, that is, from Wednesday 7th to Monday 12th June 2023.

The polling for District Female Workers Councillor, Bukedea and the Sub County Male Youth Councillor representing Kocheka Sub-county, will be conducted on 13th June 2023, and shall be by electoral college.
Polling and counting of votes for by-election of the District Chairperson, Bukedea; the District Directly-elected Councillor for Bukedea Sub County; the Sub County Woman Councillor for Mukongoro in Aligoi S/County and the Sub County Directly-elected Councillor for Kotiokot Parish in Kabarwa Sub County, will be conducted on Wednesday 14th June 2023 at all polling stations in the affected electoral areas.

The District Chairperson seat for Bukedea District fell vacant following the death of the former Chairperson, Moses Olemukan on 17th December 2022, while the other Local Government vacancies occurred due to resignation of the elected Councillors.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *