Lost your password?
Don't have an account? Sign Up

Dr. Andrew Ocero named on new Civil Aviation Board

The Uganda Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) has a new board of directors that will oversee the operation of flights in the country for the next three years.

The new board was inaugurated on September 27, 2023, by the Minister of Works and Transport, Gen. Katumba Wamala, at the ministry’s head office in Kampala.

The inaugurated board is made up of 8 members: Hon. Justice Steven Kavuma, Ms. Ethel Kamba, Dr. Andrew Alyao Ocero, Mr. Thomas James Kiggundu, Mr. Lubowa Moses Paul, Mr. John Washington Bulindi, Ms. Namubiru Sylvia, and Mr. Ssemugooma Godfrey.

Hon. Justice Steven Kavuma retains his position as board chairman. Kavuma took over from engineer Edward Mike Ndawula, who served as the board’s chairperson of the aviation authority until 2020.

Lubowa Moses Paul, Ethel Kamba, Dr. Alyao Ocero, and Thomas James Kiggundu were retained as board members from the previous board. The new board will serve for a period of three years, from 2023 to 2026.

The Uganda Civil Aviation Authority (UCAA) is the government agency responsible for licensing, monitoring, and regulating civil aviation. UCAA was established in 1991 through CAA Ordinance Number 2 of 1991, which was later replaced by CAA Statute Number 3 of 1994, Cap 354.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *