Lost your password?
Don't have an account? Sign Up

Dr. Chris Baryomunsi elected Chairperson of Kigezi Parliamentary Forum

By Steven Atwine

Members of Parliament from Kigezi Sub Region have entrusted ICT Minister Dr. Chris Baryomunsi with the mandate to lead them as Chairperson, Kigezi Parliamentary Forum.

The Kampala Gazette has obtained that Dr. Baryomunsi was elected last evening at a gathering at Serena Hotel in Kampala.

Catherine Ndamira was elected as Vice Chairperson, while Medius Kaharata was made Secretary. Roland Ndyomugyenyi was elected as Treasurer, Nicholas Kamara (Publicity) and Patience Kinshaba Nkunda (Whip).

David Bahati, the State Minister of Industry, said that as leaders of Kigezi, there is a need to work together, if development is to be realized in the region. He urged  leaders to reject sectarianism, particularly based on religion and tribe, saying that sectarianism stands as the primary obstacle to development in the region and a significant contributor to poverty.

Bahati emphasized the imperative to foster cooperation and eradicate the vices of sectarianism that are adversely affecting the region, as he highlighted the hindrance posed by sectarianism, particularly based on religion and tribe, to the overall development of the area.

Dr Chris Baryomunsi, who is also the Western Uganda NRM Vice Chairperson, vowed to work with his fellow members of parliament to see they work together for the development of the region.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *