Lost your password?
Don't have an account? Sign Up

Omoro By-Election: 21, 000 voters stay away as NRM retains MP seat

By Davis Mugabi

21, 184 voters yesterday did not turn up to vote in the Omoro County by-election.

Out of the 38, 638 registered voters spread in 84 polling stations across the Constituency, only 17, 454 turned up to vote.

Of these, 14, 224 chose Andrew Ojok Oulanyah (NRM).

NUP’s Simon Toolit could only manage 1, 633 votes.

Experts attribute the low turn up to the heavy rains that may have stopped some voters who first went to their gardens and hoped to turn up to vote later.

Omoro County MP seat fell vacant on March 20, 2022 when Jacob Oulanyah died in the United States.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *